How to delete your google account
In this article I am going to explain how to delete your google account, what does it mean to delete your account, how to delete it, what can you do if your account was hacked and how can you download and review your data. It’s actually pretty simple if you know the steps.
If you do not want to delete your entire Account, you may want to learn :
• How you can delete your Gmail from your google account.
• How you can remove any of your other Google services.
• How to remove any of the apps that have access to your account in just a few seconds : https://myaccount.google.com/permissions (You will need to sign in again).
Deleting your Google Account
Before going through this article, keep in mind that you can delete your google account at any time, but if you ever want to recover it, you might not always be able to do so. It is very rare that someone is not able to recover his or her account, but please be aware.
• You will lose all of your data, including emails, photos and files.
• You will no longer be able to use google’s services such as GDrive, GKeeps, Gmail, Calendar or GPlay.
• You will lose access to all of your subscriptions and content that you bought within that account, such as apps, music, games, TV Shows, movies etc.
Before deleting an account that got hacked, you need to consider using the Security Checkup in order to learn more about what account parts were accessed and for whom you did not give your permission. Using this method you can take precautions so that no harm comes from the hacker. The following is an essential part of the process :
If you ever saved passwords in your Google Account, you can see whether they were or were not accessed so that you know if they need to be changed or not.
If you ever saved any contacts in your Google Account you can find out if they were actually downloaded, this way you can let those contacts know that they should pay attention to any suspicious messages they may receive so that they won’t be fooled into giving any personal information.
If you used to have transactions through Google Play then you can check all of your payments and search for any unauthorized payment and dispute it.
Important note : If you delete your account, you will no longer be able to use the Security Checkup function to review the activity in that account in the future. You can try to restore it later, but it takes time in which the hacker may use your information.
2. How to review & download my google information ?
Before deleting your account you need to :
•Review the info in that account and learn how to download all of the data that you want to keep.
•If you used the address of your Gmail for online social media, for apps, or for online Banking, you’ll need to change the email address for those services.
•Update your account’s recovery information, in case you want to recover that account later on.
3. How To Delete Your Google Account
Note: If you have more than one Google Account, deleting one will not affect the others in any way.
I. Go to myaccount.google.com.
II. At the left, you will see “Data and personalization”, click on it.
III. Scroll down to “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data.”
IV. Click on “Delete a service or your account”.
V. Click on “Delete your account”.
If you ever change your mind or you accidentally deleted your account, it is possible that you can get it back.
Learn how to do so here.
If you have any questions regarding this article or if you think that it is not complete on how to delete your google account, please let me know in the comment section, I will respond as fast as humanly possible. I can’t say that I know it all, but I will try to help you with any problem that you have.